You’ve been scared of love and what it did to you
You don’t have to run, I know what you’ve been through
Just a simple touch and it can set you free
We don’t have to rush when you’re alone with me” – I Feel It Comin, The Weeknd

My Muse is active! Hip hip hurray and she’s been inspired by the lyrics above. I’m currently writing Josh’s Challenge, the third installment of my King Brothers trilogy. In this story, Josh has fallen hard for Melissa, an awkward veterinarian that he’s secretly crushed on all of his life. He’s Timbisha County’s favorite bachelor and could never figure out why she wasn’t attracted to him.

Melissa, better known as Missy to her family and friends, has secretly crushed on Josh all of her life but her awkward social anxiety – and an over bearing diva sister – have kept her from expressing her feelings. She’s finally come home to Timbisha County to begin her career in veterinary medicine but, unbeknownst to her, she’s brought a stalker home with her.

I Feel It Comin is one of many songs I’m collecting for Josh’s playlist. Other artists on the list are Ed Sheeran, Sarah McLachlan, Five Finger Death Punch, Stone Sour, Steven Tyler, Zac Brown Band and Maroon Five. For a romance writer, most people are confused by my eclectic taste in music, especially when it comes to hard rock and metal core. Honestly, the emotions evoked in this genre of music helps me dig deeper into my characters’ psyches, especially when I’m digging into the minds of  schizophrenics, psycho and sociopaths, and even the awkwardly shy.  Love-Hate-Sex-Pain by Godsmack is a prime example the song title alone.

For me, music is the ultimate inspiration, but conversely I cannot write while it’s playing. If the radio is on, I’ll be sucked out of my story and into the love, hate, sex and pain pouring out of the music and lyrics. Therefore, I write when it’s quiet and when the muse is tired I put the music back on to speak to her so she can refuel for the next day.

Music is food for My Muse, nourishment for my characters, and fuel for creativity.

What kinds of  music fuel you? Let me know in the comments or on any of my social media pages. I’d love to swap songs with you!

